Masterpieces in Tivoli #3

Masterpieces is the concert where the renowned TV host Mathias Hammer presents the most popular classical music pieces. This concert revolves around the three great B's of music history: Bach, Beethoven, and Brahms, along with some of the composers they inspired. Joining Mathias Hammer on stage, alongside Tivoli Copenhagen Phil, are pianist David Munk-Nielsen and soprano Louise McClelland. It will be a concert filled with a cornucopia of beloved melodies and compelling stories.

Thursday, May 23, 2024

At 19:30

The Tivoli Concert Hall

Masterpieces is the concert where the well-known TV host Mathias Hammer presents the most popular classical music pieces while exploring into the composers and their era. This concert is rooted in the so-called 'three great B's' of music history: Bach, Beethoven, and Brahms, along with beloved works from other composers they either knew or influenced. Alongside Mathias Hammer, on stage, besides Tivoli Copenhagen Phil and conductor Nathanaël Iselin, are two young soloists: pianist David Munk-Nielsen and soprano Louise McClelland

Louise McClelland is a Danish/New Zealand soprano who graduated from the Royal Danish Academy of Music in Copenhagen. She made her debut at the Royal Danish Theatre in March and is currently part of the theatre's "young artist" ensemble. In this concert, she will perform a couple of the very popular soprano hits: the dramatic aria "Come scoglio" from Mozart's "Cosi fan tutte," where a young woman sings about standing firm as a rock and not being charmed by young suitors, and the famous 'Michaëla's aria' from the opera Carmen.

David Munk-Nielsen is a Danish pianist who, after studying at the Royal Academy of Music in Aarhus, is currently pursuing studies at the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki. He has received awards in several piano competitions both in Denmark and abroad. In this performance, he will be the soloist in one of the greatest piano concertos of all time, namely the compelling piano concerto by Norwegian composer Edvard Grieg, where he will perform the impressive 1st movement. Grieg composed this concerto during a warm summer spent just north of Copenhagen, in Søllerød.

Masterpieces will be a concert filled with a abundance of great melodies, ensuring that numerous tunes will linger and hum in the minds of the audience as they leave Tivoli Concert Hall after the performance. In addition to what has already been mentioned, Tivoli Copenhagen Phil will perform more of Grieg, specifically the beautiful Morning Mood. Also on the program are movements from Beethoven's Symphony No. 5, known as the Fate Symphony, featuring the iconic fate motif, and Dvorak's Symphony No. 9, also known as From the New World.

Photo: Mathias Hammer. Credit: Agnete Schlichtkrull.


"The three big B's - Bach, Beethoven and Brahms"
Tivoli Copenhagen Phil

Conductor: Nathanaël Iselin
Host: Mathias Hammer
Soloists: David Munk-Nielsen, piano & Louise McClelland, soprano

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 – 1750): Toccata and Fugue in D minor, BWV 565. (arr. Stokowski)
Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 – 1750): Air
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 – 1791): "Ach, Ich fühl's" Pamina's aria from The Magic Flute
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 – 1791): “Come scoglio” Fiordiligi's aria from Cosi fan tutte
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827): Symphony No. 5, 1st Movement – “The Symphony of Destiny”

Edvard Grieg (1843 – 1907): Peer Gynt suite no. 1, op. 46 "Morning mood"
Edvard Grieg (1843 – 1907): Piano Concerto in A minor, 1st movement
Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897): Hungarian Dance No. 5
George Bizet (1838 – 1875): “Je dis, que rien ne m’épouvante”, Michaëlas arie from Carmen
Antonin Dvorak (1841 – 1904): Symphony No. 9, 4th movement – “From the New World”